August 17, 2020

Governor Gavin Newsom State Capitol, First Floor Sacramento, CA 95814 By email: <u>Kristin.Stauffacher@gov.ca.gov</u>

## Re: Environmental Justice Recommendations for CARB Chair

Dear Governor Newsom:

Since Chair Mary Nichols' term is almost expired, we appreciate the opportunity to submit names for consideration for a new Chair for the California Air Resources Board. As environmental justice organizations working in communities in California most affected by air pollution and climate change, we feel it is imperative that the new Chair demonstrates the following qualifications:

- Strong background and relationships in environmental justice work.
- Strong technical understanding of items under CARB jurisdiction, including air quality improvement.
- Strong experience and demonstrated leadership in public policy, including negotiating with multiple stakeholder groups.
- Commitment to a transformative and bold vision, including moving away from dependence on market-based mechanisms.
- No prior employment in regulated industry sectors.

We believe that the following individuals fit the qualifications to be Chair, and are wellprepared to tackle issues of climate justice in our state (listed in no particular order):

- Jared Blumenfeld, Secretary, California Environmental Protection Agency
- Yana Garcia, Deputy Secretary for Environmental Justice, Tribal Affairs and Border Relations, California Environmental Protection Agency
- Arsenio Mataka, Environmental Advisor, California Attorney General Xavier Bacerra
- Kevin de León, Former Senate President pro Tempore
- Gideon Kracov, South Coast Air Quality Management District
- Angela Johnson Meszaros, Earthjustice
- Adrian Martinez, Earthjustice
- Veronica Eady, Bay Area Air Quality Management District
- Daniela Simunovic, Better World Group

Thank you for your time and consideration of our recommendations. If you have any questions or would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to reach out to us.

Sincerely,

Miya Yoshitani Asian Pacific Environmental Network Catherine Garoupa White Central Valley Air Quality Coalition Kevin Hamilton Central California Asthma Collaborative and Co-Founder, Medical Advocates for Healthy Air (MAHA)

Nayamin Martinez Central California Environmental Justice Network

Caroline Farrell Center on Race, Poverty & the Environment

Janet DietzKamei CVAQ member, Fresno resident, and Asthmatic

Darryl Molina Sarmiento Communities for a Better Environment David Flores Environmental Health Coalition

Veronica Garibay and Phoebe Seaton Leadership Counsel for Justice & Accountability

Antonio Díaz People Organizing to Demand Environmental & Economic Rights

Martha Dina Argüello Physicians for Social Responsibility-Los Angeles

Gladys Limon California Environmental Justice Network

 Cc: Senate President pro Tempore Toni Atkins Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon Jared Blumenfeld, Secretary California Environmental Protection Agency Yana Garcia, Deputy Secretary for Environmental Justice, Tribal Affairs and Border Relations, California Environmental Protection Agency Kate Gordon, Senior Policy Advisory for Climate, Governor Newsom Christine Hironaka, Deputy Cabinet Secretary, Governor Newsom Cathryn Rivera-Hernandez, Appointments Secretary, Governor Newsom Kristin Stauffacher, Appointments Advisor, Governor Newsom Kip Lipper, Chief Policy Advisory for Energy and Environment, Pro Tem's Office Marie Liu, Policy Consultant, Speaker's Office