SES CONFER

THE UNITED STATES CONFERENCE OF MAYORS

1620 EYE STREET NORTHWEST WASHINGTON, D.C. 20006 TELEPHONE (202) 293-7330 FAX (202) 293-2352 URL: www.usmayors.org

President:
BRYAN K. BARNETT
Mayor of Rochester Hills, MI

Vice President: GREG FISCHER Mayor of Louisville Second Vice President: NAN WHALEY Mayor of Daytor Past Presidents: STEPHEN K. BENJAMIN Mayor of Columbia, SC ELIZABETH B. KAUTZ

STEVE ADLER Mayor of Austin SHANE T. BEMIS Mayor of Gresham
J. CHRISTIAN BOLLWAGE
Mayor of Elizabeth
JAMES BRAINARD Mayor of Carmel JOY COOPER Mayor of Hallandale Beach T.M. FRANKLIN COWNIE

Mayor of Burnsville

Mayor of Des Moines HARDIE DAVIS, JR. Mayor of Augusta BILL de BLASIO Mayor of New York City JORGE O. ELORZA

Mayor of Providence JOHN GILES Mayor of Mesa HILLARY SCHIEVE

HILLARY SCHIEVE
Mavor of Reno
FRANCIS X. SUAREZ
Mavor of Miami
SYLVESTER TURNER
Mavor of Houston
MARTIN J. WALSH
Mavor of Boston
Advisory Board:
JUAN CARLOS BERMUDEZ
Mavor of Doral Mayor of Doral MURIEL BOWSER

Mayor of the District of Columbia SHARON WESTON BROOME Mayor of Baton Rouge ROY BUOL

Mayor of Dubuque
CHRISTOPHER L. CABALDON
Mayor of West Sacramento
PAULINE RUSSO CUTTER Mayor of San Leandro MICHELLE De La ISLA

MICHELLE De La ISLA
Mayor of Topeka
BUDDY DYER
Mayor of Orlando
JOSEPH P GANIM
Mayor of Bridgeport
ROBERT GARCIA
Mayor of Long Beach
OLIVER G. GILBERT, IIII
Mayor of Migni Garden

ANDREW GINTHER Mayor of Columbus
CAROLYN G. GOODMAN
Mayor of Las Vegas
DAVID HOLT

MAVID HOLI'
Mayor of Oklahoma City
HARRY LaROSILIERE
Mayor of Plano
LILY MEI Mayor of Fremon Mayor of Fremont
JOSEPH T. McELVEEN, JR.
Mayor of Sumter
JON MITCHELL
Mayor of New Bedford
MARK W. MITCHELL

Mayor of Tempe
KENNETH D. MIYAGISHIMA
Mayor of Las Cruces
FRANK C. ORTIS

FRANK C. ORTIS
Mayor of Pembroke Pines
BETSY PRICE
Mayor of Fort Worth
MIGUEL A. PULIDO
Mayor of Santa Ana
MICHAEL D. TUBBS
Mayor of Stockton
BRIAN C. WAHLER
Mayor of Discreases

Mayor of Piscataway ACQUANETTA WARREN Mayor of Fontana
JEFF WILLIAMS
Mayor of Arlington, TX
VICTORIA WOODARDS

Mayor of Tacoma

CEO and Executive Director TOM COCHRAN

Dear Speaker Pelosi:

March 24, 2020

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker The United States House of Representatives

RE: Population Cutoff Change Needed for "Temporary Fiscal Relief for States and Localities"

America's mayors are singularly focused on doing everything they can to help save lives and protect our nation's economy as we address the COVID-19 pandemic.

We greatly appreciate your leadership in securing passage of two critically needed supplemental appropriations packages.

As you know, over 300 mayors signed a letter that was sent to every member of the House of Representatives and the Senate requesting that \$250 billion in direct assistance for cities be included in the 3rd supplemental package. This bipartisan letter was signed by mayors from cities of all sizes and regions of the nation.

We were very pleased to see that the 3rd supplemental package put forward in the House of Representatives would appropriate \$200 billion for "Temporary Fiscal Relief for States and Cities." This funding is desperately needed as cities work to save lives and shore up the local economies that drive our nation. However, we are greatly concerned that under this proposal, the cutoff for local governments to receive direct assistance is set at a population of 500.000 or more. The Conference has steadfastly advocated that Congress use the CDBG allocation structure which directly provides funds to every city over 50,000 in population. We urge that this structure be used for the new stabilization program. At a time when every city is working on the front lines to address the COVID-19 crisis, our organization strongly recommends that the House bill be adjusted to use the CDBG allocation structure.

Please have your staff contact me directly at 202-744-9110 or my Chief of Staff Ed Somers at 202-744-9223 to discuss this request.

Sincerely,

om cochran

Tom Cochran **CEO** and Executive Director

Cc: Iulius West