## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

May 4, 2022

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives H-232 U.S. Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Kevin McCarthy House Republican Leader U.S. House of Representatives H-204 U.S. Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Madam Speaker, Leader McCarthy,

As the leading proponents of the American Innovation and R&D Competitiveness Act we urge immediate action to prevent serious damage to U.S. innovation and competitiveness with a four-year delay of the imposition of amortization of research and development (R&D) expenses.

For almost 70 years, businesses have been able to deduct their R&D expenses immediately, incentivizing critical research investments. On January 1<sup>st</sup>, this deduction was removed, and replaced with a requirement that forced long term amortization of expenses. Unless reversed or delayed, this change will adversely affect the cash flow for businesses engaged in R&D, significantly impacting future funding for R&D and harming the United States' global competitiveness.

According to the accounting firm, EY, this change will result in job losses totaling over 20,000 in the first five years and nearly 60,000 jobs in the second five years. If allowed to remain in effect, the U.S. policy of amortization would treat innovation-related expenses worse than any other developed country. Prior to amortization going into effect, the U.S. already ranked 27<sup>th</sup> of the 37 OECD countries with respect to R&D incentives. In contrast, China provides a super deduction for R&D expenses for manufacturing companies, amounting to an extra 100% of eligible R&D expenses in addition to actual expenses incurred. Investments conducted in China will receive 20 times the tax benefit of R&D conducted in the U.S. When all R&D incentives are considered, China will have more than 11 times more generous incentives than those of the U.S.

Accordingly, it is critical that Congress reverse this harmful change. Recently, the National Science and Technology Council concluded that "ensuring national security and resilience is critical for the U.S., especially as other nations dramatically increase their R&D expenditures." Sustainable investments "are essential to ensure that the U.S. remains able to secure and protect the American people in the face of this increased competition."

Almost seven decades of history show heavy bipartisan tax policy support for R&D. The initial credit was passed by a Democratic House, Republican Senate, and signed by President Reagan. Our legislation to permanently reverse the amortization requirement has at least 99 bipartisan cosponsors in the House and 26 in the Senate.

The data backs up the merits of maintaining the immediate deductibility of R&D expenditures. As each month passes, failure to act yields proportionately more harm to innovation and competitiveness. We request immediate action on this urgent tax policy matter.

Sincerely,

John B. Larson

Member of Congress

Ron Estes

Member of Congress

Antonio Delgado

Member of Congress

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Steven Horsford Member of Congress

Trocov Klonn

Member of Congress

Jake LaTurner

Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr.

Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta

Member of Congress

Ted W Lieu

Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Gerald E. Connolly

Member of Congress

Tom O'Halleran

Tom O'Halleran Member of Congress Jennifer Wexton
Member of Congress

Bryan Steil Member of Congress

Lloyd Smucker Member of Congress Mike Kelly Member of Congress David Schweikert Member of Congress

Jackie Walorski Member of Congress

Jodey C. Arrington Member of Congress

Frank D. Lucas Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress Eric A. "Rick" Crawford Member of Congress

Rodney Davis
Member of Congress

Bill Johnson Member of Congress Gregory F. Murphy, M.D. Member of Congress

Guy Reschenthaler Member of Congress

Fred Upton Member of Congress Brad R. Wenstrup, D.P.M. Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Ken Buck Member of Congress Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress

Her Buck Jaseph S. Marelle

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Tim Ryan Member of Congress

Dina Titus

Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

Tom Cole Member of Congress Anthony G. Brown
Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasey
Member of Congress

Steve Womack Member of Congress



Darin LaHood Member of Congress

Greg Stanton
Member of Congress

gusu	lle
C:- T	

Susie Lee Member of Congress

Moussy Houlehan

Hood

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Vicky Hartzler
Member of Congress



Bill Posey Member of Congress

caroe D. Miller

Carol D. Miller Member of Congress

Peter Meijer
Member of Congress

ember of Congress Member of Congress

Adrian Smith
Member of Congress

Stephanie Murphy Member of Congress

Mike Carey
Member of Congress

Som Rice

Tom Rice Member of Congress

Michelle Steel
Member of Congress

Michael T. McCaul Member of Congress

Marcy Kaptur Don Bacon Tom Reed Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Gregory Steube Julia Brownley Jason Smith Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress John Joyce Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress

August Pfluger
Member of Congress

Vern Buchanan Member of Congress A. Drew Ferguson IV
Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress