February 4, 2021

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito Ranking Member Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

## Dear Chairman Carper & Ranking Member Capito;

We write today to enthusiastically support the nomination of Brenda Mallory to be Chair of the Council on Environmental Quality. While Brenda undoubtedly has the support of colleagues that served with her in the Obama Administration, we write as former leaders on environmental and natural resources issues who served in the administrations of Presidents George W. Bush and George H.W. Bush. Many of us served alongside Brenda during her nearly 20 years of public service, and we all are familiar with her character and the approach that she will bring to addressing environmental and natural resource issues if she is confirmed by the United States Senate.

The Council performs vital functions in environmental policy and in the Executive Branch. It serves as a resource for the Congress, state and local governments, and stakeholders to foster collaboration and to mediate complex environmental and natural resource policies, programs, and disagreements. Further, it plays a key role in running an effective interagency process across the Executive Branch on these issues.

Each of us knows from firsthand experience the importance of the Council's work. Transparency, collaboration, and pragmatism are cornerstones for it to be effective. We know Brenda to be an exemplary candidate who possesses the deep domain expertise, open mind and leadership skills needed to be a strong and effective Chair of the Council. Throughout her career, Brenda has worked across party lines and with stakeholders of different opinions and backgrounds to drive consensus-based and often innovative solutions to complex environmental and natural resource challenges.

Brenda has dutifully served both Democratic and Republican Administrations. She has a wealth of experience working on environmental and natural resource issues for the greater good of the country. Her intimate knowledge of the Council and its mission will serve her and the American public well.

Based on our familiarity with Brenda and her record, we are confident that she will perform her duties faithfully with integrity and honor, and will be open and transparent in her role, welcoming all views. We commend her nomination as Council Chair, and we respectfully urge you to support her confirmation as expeditiously as possible.

Chief of Staff, US EPA, 2005-2009

## Sincerely,

Charles L. Ingebretson

William K. Reilly Administrator, US EPA, 1989-1993 Christine Todd Whitman Administrator, US EPA, 2001-2003 Michael O. Leavitt Administrator, US EPA, 2003-2005 Administrator, US EPA, 2005-2009 Stephen K. Johnson Chairman, CEQ, 2001-2009 James L. Connaughton Linda J. Fisher Deputy Administrator, US EPA, 2001-2003 Marcus C. Peacock Deputy Administrator, US EPA, 2005-2009 General Counsel, US EPA, 2003-2006 Ann R. Klee Roger R. Martella General Counsel, US EPA, 2006-2009 Eileen McGinnis Chief of Staff, US EPA, 2001-2003 Chief of Staff, US EPA, 2003-2004 Thomas J. Gibson, Jr. Rich McKeown Chief of Staff, US EPA, 2004-2005

CC: Members of the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works