



























November 25, 2020

The Honorable Richard Shelby Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States Senate S-128 The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable John Kennedy Chairman, FSGG Subcommittee Committee on Appropriations United States Senate S-128 The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Patrick Leahy Vice Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States Senate S-146A The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Chris Coons
Ranking Member, FSGG Subcommittee
Committee on Appropriations
United States Senate
S-146A The Capitol
Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Shelby, Vice Chairman Leahy, Chairman Kennedy, and Ranking Member Coons:

As communications companies serving Americans in rural and otherwise underserved areas, we take national security issues seriously and wish to comply with the bipartisan direction that any equipment deemed to pose security threats should be removed from carrier networks in the United States. We respectfully request your immediate assistance in providing the Federal Communications Commission ("FCC") with sufficient appropriations to fund the Secure and Trusted Communication Networks Reimbursement Program ("STCNRP") to accomplish that objective.

Our companies provide critical communications services in hard-to-serve areas, employ skilled workers in our local communities, and help drive the modern economic engine of rural America by providing services that have proven to be absolutely critical as even more aspects of life have shifted online amidst the COVID-19 pandemic. Network security is paramount to our commitments to serving our customers and neighbors, but absent access to the STCNRP, our very existence is threatened. Failure to sufficiently fund the program to replace equipment now deemed unacceptable by federal policymakers may result in our companies being forced to shutter our networks and a termination of connectivity to our customers, many of whom do not have an alternative to our service. This outcome would devastate many rural areas and exacerbate the digital divide.

Congress recognized the need to secure communications networks by creating the STCNRP as part of the Secure and Trusted Communications Networks Act of 2019 ("STCNA"), which was signed into law on March 12, 2020. Since that time, on September 4, 2020, the FCC has reported that, "it could cost an estimated \$1.837 billion to remove and replace Huawei and ZTE equipment" from the networks of all Eligible Telecommunications Carriers, or their affiliates and subsidiaries, and an, "approximately \$1.617 billion to remove and replace such equipment" from entities that "appear to initially qualify for reimbursement" under STCNA. Our operations have been frozen with uncertainty as we wait for critical funding to remove and replace equipment deemed to pose a national security threat. As you consider appropriations for Fiscal Year 2021, we depend on Congress to make funding available as soon as possible so that we can continue to provide essential broadband services in rural America.

We thank you for support of our efforts to keep America's communications networks safe and secure and to close the digital divide.

Sincerely,

Michael T. Prior Chief Executive Officer ATN International Jonathan D. Foxman
President/CEO
MTPCS, LLC d.b.a. CellularOne

Ryan Johnson Chief Operating Officer Missouri RSA 5 Partnership d/b/a Chariton Valley Wireless Services

Bruce Holdridge CEO Copper Valley Telecom James Groft
CEO
James Valley
Telecommunications

Jim Lyon CEO and GM Mark Twain Rural Telephone Company

John C. Nettles
President
Pine Belt Cellular, Inc d/b/a Pine
Belt Wireless

Jerry Whisenhunt General Manager Pine Cellular Jana Wallace Chief Executive Officer PTCI

Mike Kilgore CEO Sagebrush Cellular Inc. Craig Gates
General Manager/CEO
Triangle Communications
System, Inc.

Eric Woody CTO Union Telephone Company DBA Union Wireless

Todd Houseman General Manager/CEO United Wireless Communications, Inc. Frank DiRico CEO NE Colorado Cellular, Inc., d/b/a Viaero Wireless

Cc:

The Honorable Mitch McConnell The Honorable Chuck Schumer The Honorable Roger Wicker The Honorable Maria Cantwell