January 16, 2018

The President The White House Washington, DC 20500

Dear Mr. President:

As the leaders of American manufacturing, agriculture and energy industries and some of the nation's largest freight rail customers, we urge you to move forward to nominate new members and a permanent Chair to serve on the Surface Transportation Board (STB). We need a fully-staffed STB committed to moving forward on freight rail policy reforms that will streamline overly burdensome regulatory procedures and promote greater competition in the rail sector.

Our organizations, including trade associations and individual companies, represent a broad cross section of industries that provide more than 7 million direct jobs and support millions more throughout the United States, and generate trillions of dollars in economic output each year. We depend on the railroads to deliver reliable and affordable service in order to remain competitive in a global market.

Competition is the foundation of the free enterprise system and helps American producers grow their businesses, generate new investments and create jobs. However, many freight rail customers have no effective competition for transportation service. The STB plays a critically important role in resolving rail rate and service issues where competition is lacking.

Congress unanimously passed the STB Reauthorization Act of 2015 to help improve how the STB operates, and the Board has initiated a number of steps to modernize overly burdensome procedures. These reforms are aligned with the pro-growth goals of your administration for many important sectors of the U.S. economy; they will help ensure that commodities, including grain, coal, minerals, energy, fertilizer, forest products, steel, and manufactured goods, can be shipped efficiently to both domestic and international markets. Unfortunately, with only two of the five STB positions filled and no permanent Chair, progress on many of these overdue regulatory reforms has stalled.

In order to regain momentum and support U.S. businesses, we must be sure that the STB is fully staffed and comprised of members that will make decisions based on current economic realities and founded on free market solutions. In addition, it is imperative both for railroads and for their customers to have confidence that the STB is a fair and unbiased arbiter of disputes. Therefore, we strongly discourage naming rail industry veterans to the Board, especially as Chair.

We welcome further discussion with you on these important nominations, and look forward to working with your Administration on policies that support growth across the entire U.S. economy.

Sincerely,

Rob Shama Mark Kramer
President President and CEO

Afton Chemical Anderson Development Company

Mitch Bainwol Brad Westfall
President & CEO President

Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers ASHTA Chemicals Inc.

Terry Whiteside Wayne Smith
Chairman CEO
Alliance for Rail Competition.

BASF Corporation

Jim PalmerJim McGreevyPresident & CEOPresident and CEOAllied Universal CorporationBeer Institute

Cal Dooley Mark Nikolich

President and CEO Chief Executive Officer
American Chemistry Council Braskem America, Inc.

Zippy Duvall Robert Moser, Jr.

President Vice President, Global Accounts American Farm Bureau Federation Brenntag North America, Inc.

Donna Harman Sean Keohane
President and CEO President and CEO
American Forest and Paper Association Cabot Corporation

Michael P. Davis Bob Brown

President President and CEO
American Malting Barley Association CALAMCO

Jack Gerard Yves Willems

President and CEO Chief Executive Officer
American Petroleum Institute Carmeuse Lime & Stone

Inga Carus Chairman

Carus Group Inc.

Roddey Dowd, Jr.

CEO

Charlotte Pipe and Foundry Co.

Mark Vergnano President and CEO The Chemours Company

Frank Reiner President

The Chlorine Institute

Jay Debertin

President and CEO

CHS Inc.

Kirk Milling President & CEO Ciner Resources LP

John Bode

President & CEO

Corn Refiners Association

Jerry MacCleary

President

Covestro North America

Herman J. Haksteen

CEO

Cryo-Trans

John D. Williams President & CEO

Domtar

Marc Nolen

Vice President of Operations Dover Chemical Corporation Andrew Liveris Chairman and CEO

The Dow Chemical Company

Gregg Jones
President & CEO
EP Minerals

John Rolando President

Evonik Corporation

Chris Jahn President

The Fertilizer Institute

Edward T. Flynn EVP & President Genesis Alkali

Mike Doss

CEO & President

Graphic Packaging International, Inc.

Pamela G. Bailey President and CEO

Grocery Manufacturers Association

Craig A. Rogerson

Chairman, President and CEO

Hexion Inc.

Amy Hark

Director, Global Logistics Purchasing

Huntsman Corporation

Holly Alfano

CEO

Independent Lubricant Manufacturers

Association

Mark Ellis President

Industrial Minerals Association - North

America

Robin Wiener President

Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries

Mark Sutton Chairman & CEO International Paper

Steve DeHaan President and CEO

International Warehouse Logistics

Association

Troy Shannan

SVP of US Operations KraftHeinz Company

Richard L. Wilkes, Jr.

Senior Vice President – Operations

Kuehne Company

W Paul Delp President & CEO

Lansdale Warehouse Company

Antonis Papadourakis President and CEO LANXESS Corporation

Ron Thompson

CEO

Lhoist North America

Joc O'Rourke President and CEO The Mosaic Company Eric R. Byer President

National Association of Chemical

Distributors

Jennifer Hedrick Executive Director

National Industrial Transportation League

Mark Ellis President

National Industrial Sand Association

Francois Fraudeau President & CEO

Novus International, Inc.

John Fischer

Chairman, President and CEO

Olin Corporation

Joseph Chiaroni

President

ORG Chem Group

Burnis J. Hebert Interim President

Occidental Chemical Corporation

Mark Kowlzan

CEO

Packaging Corporation of America

William R. Carteaux President & CEO

Plastics Industry Association

Dick Church

Executive Director

Plastic Pipe and Fittings Association

Andrew Reese President

Plastic Services and Products

Patrice Legare Chairman of the Board Private Railcar Food and Beverage Association, Inc.

Richard Garneau President & CEO Resolute Forest Products

Mark Gardner President & CEO Sappi North America

Avinash Puri President Searles Valley Minerals

Alan Minty VP, Supply Chain – Drilling and Production Services SECURE Energy Services

Bruce Culpepper President Shell Oil Company

Michael Lacey CEO Solvay America, Inc.

Bryan Smalley President Southeastern Lumber Manufacturers Association

Philip K. Bell President Steel Manufacturers Association Robert W. McBride President and CEO The Sulphur Institute

Martin Keighley CEO & Managing Director Tata Chemicals North America Inc.

Dick Doyle President and CEO Vinyl Institute