Western Leaders Network

P.O. Box 4433, Durango, CO 81302

February 28, 2017

Dear Senator:

We are writing to express our opposition to a proposal to use the Congressional Review Act (CRA) to block rules issued by the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) to limit natural gas waste from the oil and gas sector. As elected officials from local governments across the Interior West, we strongly support this recently adopted rule on venting and flaring methane because it will cut natural gas waste on federal and tribal lands, will help ensure a fair return to local governments and the taxpaying public, will put our energy resources to good use, and will clean up our air.

The CRA is a blunt tool that, if successful, would prevent any "substantially similar" rule from being issued, allowing the oil and natural gas industry to continue to waste hundreds of millions of dollars-worth of taxpayer owned resources every year, and use outdated, wasteful technologies.

The BLM's rule to reduce methane waste from venting and flaring protects the interests of our western communities and constituents in a number of important ways:

- The rule cuts the waste of American energy resources. On federal and tribal lands, the rule would save more than \$330 million worth of natural gas annually that could be used to heat homes, power vehicles, or generate electricity. In fact, enough natural gas is being wasted on these lands to supply 760,000 households each year.
- The rule ensures a fair return to taxpayers. States, tribes and federal taxpayers lose royalty revenues when natural gas is wasted as much as \$23 million annually in royalty revenue for the Federal Government and the States that share it, according to a 2010 Government Accountability Office (GAO) report. Federal royalties are split about evenly between the federal government and the states, and then used to help fund education, infrastructure projects, such as road and bridges, and mitigation projects to address the impacts of energy development to western communities.
- The rule helps clean up our air. The same leaks that lead to natural gas waste also release toxic and smog-forming pollutants such as volatile organic compounds, benzene, toluene, ethylbenzene, and xylene. The same technologies that reduce natural gas waste also limit these other harmful pollutants and prevent asthma attacks and other smoginduced respiratory problems.
- The rule helps create American jobs. Efforts to cut methane waste has put American entrepreneurs to work creating innovative, cutting-edge technologies to make it economically feasible for the oil and gas companies achieve reductions. A national rule to cut methane waste on public and tribal lands helps to deepen investment and create more jobs in this industry.

Leading oil and natural gas companies and several states, including Colorado, Wyoming, Ohio and Pennsylvania, have successfully adopted programs to reduce methane — the primary component of natural gas—and other air pollution from the oil and gas industry. After Colorado adopted the nation's first-ever rule to cut methane waste and pollution with support from both environmental advocates and oil and gas operators two years ago, the state's oil and gas industry has continued to grow. Colorado's natural gas production increased about 10 percent, oil production is up 58 percent, and the number of oil and gas wells also increased by more than three percent.

This common sense rule has strong bipartisan support among the public. A bipartisan poll by Colorado College found that 80 percent of Westerners support action to cut natural gas waste on public lands, and a broad and diverse array of western stakeholders supported the BLM natural gas waste rule.

We urge your opposition to using the Congressional Review Act to eliminate BLM's rule to reduce natural gas waste because of the rule's benefit to our local governments, constituents, and taxpayers.

Sincerely yours,

Colorado County Commissioners

Gwen Lachelt Karn Stiegelmeier

La Plata County Commissioner Summit County Commissioner

Julie Westendorff Mike Brazell

La Plata County Commissioner Park County Commissioner

Jason Anderson Nancy Jackson

Saguache County Commissioner Arapahoe County Commissioner

Jill Ryan Eva Henry

Eagle County Commissioner Adams County Commissioner

Kathy Chandler-Henry Steve Child

Eagle County Commissioner Pitkin County Commissioner

Michael Whiting Hilary Cooper

Archuleta County Commissioner San Miguel County Commissioner

Keith Baker Joan May

Chaffee County Commissioner San Miguel County Commissioner

Ben Tisdel Kris Holstrom

Ouray County Commissioner San Miguel County Commissioner

Cindy Domenico

Boulder County Commissioner

Deb Gardner

Boulder County Commissioner

Elise Jones

Boulder County Commissioner

Colorado Local Officials

Christina Rinderle

Mayor, City of Durango

Anita "Sweetie" Marbury Councilor, City of Durango

Richard White

Mayor Pro-Tem, City of Durango

Christine Berg

Mayor, City of Lafayette

Gustavo Reyna

Mayor Pro-Tem, City of Lafayette

Merrily Mazza

Council Member, City of Lafayette

Shakti

Council Member, City of Lakewood

Polly Christensen

Council Member, City of Longmont

Connie Sullivan

Mayor, Town of Lyons

Kristopher Larsen

Mayor, Town of Nederland

Robin L. Kniech

Council Member, City of Denver

Suzanne Jones

Mayor, City of Boulder

Sam Weaver

Council Member, City of Boulder

Aaron Brockett

Council Member, City of Boulder

Liza Morzel

Council Member, City of Boulder

Mary Dolores Young

Council Member, City of Boulder

John Clark

Mayor, Town of Ridgway

Erick Johnson

Mayor Pro Tem, Town of Ridgway

Ellen Hunter

Councilor, Town of Ridgway

Robb Austin

Councilor, Town of Ridgway

Britt Bassett

Board Member, La Plata Electric Association

Jeff Berman

Board Member, La Plata Electric Association

Jack Turner

Board Member, La Plata Electric Association

Ute Mountain Ute Tribe

Regina Lopez Whiteskunk

Former Tribal Council Member

New Mexico Elected Officials

Debbie O'Malley Bernalillo County Commissioner

Maggie Hart Stebbins Bernalillo County Commissioner

Paula Garcia Mora County Commissioner

George Trujillo Mora County Commissioner

Anna Hansen Santa Fe County Commissioner

Javier Gonzales Mayor, City of Santa Fe

Joseph Maestas Santa Fe City Council Member

Pat Davis Albuquerque City Council Member

Katee McClure Aztec City Commissioner

Senator Linda Lopez Albuquerque

Senator Bill O'Neill Albuquerque

Senator Gerald Ortiz y Pino Albuquerque

Senator Jeff Steinborn Las Cruces

Representative Cheryl Williams Stapleton Albuquerque

Nevada Elected Officials

David Bobzien Council Member At-large, City of Reno

Jenny Brekhus Council Member, Ward 1, City of Reno

Chris Giunchigliani Clark County Commissioner

Utah Elected Officials

Rani Derasary Moab City Council Member

Kalen Jones Moab City Council Member