## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

February 13, 2017

The Honorable Ajit Pai Chairman Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street SW Washington, DC 20554

Dear Chairman Pai,

We write today to express our concerns with your decision to block Spot On, Boomerang Wireless, KonaTel, FreedomPop, AR Designs, Kajeet, Liberty, Northland Cable, and Wabash Independent Networks from participating in the Lifeline program for subsidized broadband Internet access.

Millions of households across the country rely on having access to affordable Internet service. You have said yourself that you want to see universal broadband coverage in this country. Expanding Internet access will lead to more jobs in technology and new innovations.

Your action will hurt those in our country that need the most help. The founder of Kajeet, one of the companies you blocked, said he is concerned about the poor children they serve. He said "We partner with school districts—41 states and the District of Columbia—to provide educational broadband so that poor kids can do their homework." Mr. Chairman, your arbitrary decision will hurt poor children and widen the digital divide. The American people deserve better.

By reversing the decision made by your predecessor, you are reducing, not expanding, Internet access. We ask that you reconsider the Commission's decision to remove the nine companies. We look forward to your response

BO KHANNA Member of Congress

RON KIND Member of Congress

Sincerely,

INNA G. ESHOO

Member of Congress

MARK TAKANO Member of Congress

JIM MCOOVERN

Member of Congress

Liste) ETER WELCH

Member of Congress

OSÉ E. SERRANO

Member of Congress

Jamele PRAMILA JAYAPAI

Member of Congress

Marka A

MATT CARTWRIGHT Member of Congress

KATHERINE M. CLARK

Member of Congress

BARBARA LEE Member of Congress

RAJA KRISHNAMOORTHI Member of Congress

R

ŽOE LOFGREN Member of Congress

Member of Congress

MARK POCAN Member of Congress

Ted W. due

TED W. LIEU Member of Congress

halle

JERROLD NADLER Member of Congress

HENRY C. "HANK" JOHNSON Member of Congress

ime Kaskin

JAMIE RASKIN Member of Congress

GREGORY W. MEEKS Member of Congress

BOBBY L. RDSH Member of Congress

ERIC SWALWELL

Member of Congress

rece JACKIE SPEIER Member of Congress

E COHE

Member of Congress

JOAN VARGA Member of Congress

GRACE MENG Member of Congress

ber a Congress

GWEN S. MOORE Member of Congress

DARREN SOTO Member of Congress

JOHN YARMUTH

Member of Congress

MMY PANETTA Member of Congress

tananer

JOHN GARAMENDI Member of Congress

[d.

ELEANOR HOLMES NORTON Member of Congress

PETE CLOSKY

Member of Congress

KEITH HLLISON Member of Congress

Clarke to.

YVETTE CLARKE Member of Congress

Parette Diaz Barage

NANETTE BARRÁGAN Member of Congress

G. K. BUTTERFIELD Member of Congress

RICHARD E. NEAL

RICHARD E. NEAL Member of Congress

Esque Bernice Jomson

EDDIE BERNICE JOHNSON Member of Congress

Tulsi Gabbard TULSI GABBARD Member of Congress