December 17, 2022

To:

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr. President of the United States Washington, DC 20500

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the US House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Charles Schumer Majority Leader of the US Senate Washington, DC 2051

CC: Members of Congress

Dear President Biden, Speaker Pelosi, and Leader Schumer,

As leaders of environmental and environmental justice organizations representing millions of members and supporters from across the country, we oppose attaching any version of the Building American Energy Security Act of 2022 to the end of year government funding package.

This deal prioritizes the interests of the fossil fuel industry at the expense of the environment and health of frontline communities, which are disproportionately Black, Indigenous, communities of color and low-wealth communities – a move that is not in line with President Biden's commitments to climate and environmental justice.

Congress should instead be advancing efforts that ensure robust public engagement early in project development and strengthen the requirements for agencies to evaluate cumulative health and climate impacts.

Members of Congress must reject all attempts to include any version of the Building American Energy Security Act in the year end government funding package.

Sincerely,

Jane Kleeb

Founder & President

Bold Alliance

Kierán Suckling Executive Director

Center for Biological Diversity

DaMareo Cooper & Analilia Mejia

Co-Executive Directors

Center for Popular Democracy

Mike Tidwell

Founder and Director

Chesapeake Climate Action Network

Beto Lugo Martinez Executive Director

CleanAirNow

Marion Gee, Bineshi Albert, Monica Atkins

Co-Executive Directors
Climate Justice Alliance

Lori Lodes

Executive Director

Climate Power

Hilton Kelley

Founder & Chief Executive Director Community In-power & Development

Association

Bradley M. Campbell

President

Conservation Law Foundation

Jamie Rappaport Clark

President & Chief Executive Officer

Defenders of Wildlife

Abigail Dillen President Earthjustice Jennifer Krill

Executive Director

Earthworks

Howard A. Learner

Executive Director

Environmental Law & Policy Center

Wenonah Hauter

Founder & Executive Director

Food & Water Watch

Erich Pica President

Friends of the Earth

Cindy Wiesner Executive Director

Grassroots Global Justice Alliance

Mark Magaña

Founding President and CEO

GreenLatinos

Kaniela Ing

National Director

Green New Deal Network

Annie Leonard

Co-Executive Director

Greenpeace USA

Winona LaDuke

Executive Director

Honor the Earth

Tom Goldtooth

Executive Director

Indigenous Environmental Network

Leah Greenberg

Executive Director

Indivisible

Gene Karpinski

President

League of Conservation Voters

Jamesa Johnson Greer Executive Director

Michigan Environmental Justice Coalition

Michael Stocker

Director

Ocean Conservation Research

Elizabeth Bast
Executive Director
Oil Change International

Joseph Geevarghese Executive Director Our Revolution

Sulma Arias Executive Director

People's Action

Susana Almanza Executive Director

PODER

John Beard CEO

Port Arthur Community Action Network

Stephanie Taylor Co-Founder

Progressive Change Campaign Committee

Mary O'Brien Executive Director Project Eleven Hundred

Roberta Bondurant & Maury Johnson

Co-Chairs

Protect Our Water Heritage Rights (POWHR)

Manish Bapna

President & Chief Executive Officer Natural Resources Defense Council

Jodi Lasseter and Connie Leeper Co-Founders and Co-Directors NC Climate Justice Collective

Jean Flemma Director

Ocean Defense Initiative

Ramón J. Cruz President Sierra Club

Frankie Orona Executive Director

Society of Native Nations

Alexia Leclercq Co-Founder

Start:Empowerment

Varshini Prakash Executive Director Sunrise Movement

Robin Schneider Executive Director

Texas Campaign for the Environment

Jamie Williams President

The Wilderness Society

Peggy Shepard

Executive Director & Co-Founder WE ACT for Environmental Justice

Omega and Brenda Wilson

Co-Founders

West End Revitalization Association

Erik Schlenker-Goodrich Executive Director Western Environmental Law Center

Erik Molvar Executive Director Western Watersheds Project John Horning Executive Director WildEarth Guardians

Maurice Mitchell National Director Working Families Party

Dr. Crystal Cavalier-Keck and Jason Crazy Bear Keck Co-Founders 7 Directions of Service